The Free Edition of vSMP has zero value

Home Forums Using vSMP Foundation The Free Edition of vSMP has zero value

This topic contains 5 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Its 3 years, 9 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Tao
    Participant

Hi, Shai:

I was pretty excited to find out that ScaleMP has a free edition for the community now. Unfortunately, it is my humble opinion that the free edition has zero value to society and please hear me out.

Because of the fact that 16GB DDR3 quad rank ECC DIMMs are priced linearly now per GB relative to 4GB and 8GB DIMMs, 1TB memory limit on the free edition can be easily reached by just buying a Dell R910(with cheap X7550s) and fill the 64 DIMMs with 16GB ram($100 per dimm) instead of running a lesser server and run additional memory nodes with scaleMP.

I am a researcher. I think an memory extension product of 1TB is useless. Because current software ecosystem already has in memory clustering solutions to alleviate DB or application memory capacity bottlenecks like Redis, Memcache, etc.

In fact, I think the reverse situation is better, instead of giving the community a free memory extension product that can be easily replaced by simply buying a Dell R910, how about giving us the community a free limited CPU aggregation product? There are use cases(acadamic/research/analytics) that require only 16-32GB of ram, but can take a lot of CPU power. There are a lot of retired servers, particularly interesting is the Dell C6100 with Xeon 5400,5500,5600 series that businesses won’t use because it’s no longer the most power efficient. To researchers with a budget, those quad node servers could be aggregated by ScaleMP to get a 8 socket system, so there is social value to reuse those less power efficient servers for academic research purposes, instead of us buying Supermicro 5086B-TRF to get to 8 sockets(granted, the 5086 is only $10K, so it is not out of reach either)